In New Jersey, every driver is required to have insurance covering three areas: liability insurance, personal injury protection, and uninsured motorist coverage. You should not get behind the wheel if you do not have the insurance required by the state, even if you are only driving a short distance. Perhaps you only need to drive from the Mantoloking area to the other side of Brick near Burnt Tavern Road and Lanes Mill Road. If you are stopped by the police somewhere along this short trip and you do not present valid insurance, you will receive a ticket.
Any driver charged with driving without insurance should retain a traffic defense attorney as soon as possible. A driving without insurance conviction will cause major monetary hardship for any New Jersey driver, with penalties and possible license suspension at risk. In fact, driving without insurance punishment in New Jersey includes penalties which are even more harsh than a first-offense DWI charge.
If you have been charged with driving without insurance in Brick Township you will need a traffic defense attorney to represent you at the Brick Township Municipal Court. The experienced traffic defense lawyers at Villani & DeLuca have handled countless cases arising in Brick.
First time offenders will face a fine between $300 and $1,000, along with community service, DMV surcharges of $250 for three years, and one year of driver’s license suspension. A second time offense will result in a fine up to $5,000, jail for up to 14 days, 30 days of community service, and a driver’s license suspension for two years.
If you are facing driving without insurance charges in Brick, you will defend your charges in the Brick Township Municipal Court. As mentioned, you should speak with an experienced traffic defense lawyer before appearing in court. Because there are defenses available in certain situations, it is important to assess your legal options with an experienced attorney. Call today Villani & DeLuca today for a free initial consultation!
Multiple offenses bring about even more serious consequences. After two violations, the uninsured driver will have to re-apply to the Motor Vehicle Commission in order to get a new driver’s license—a request which may or may not be granted. For this reason, people who have violated N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2 more than two times risk permanent loss of their New Jersey driver’s license. Of course, people who violate this law will also receive points on their driver’s license.