Brick Leaving the Scene of an Accident

Traffic Attorneys In Brick
Brick Criminal Lawyer > Brick Leaving the Scene of an Accident

Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Brick

Drunken driver being arrested after car crash

Auto accidents are undoubtedly a stressful and dangerous occurrence that we all wish to avoid.  When a driver involved in an accident panics, often times they hurriedly drive away in order to dodge getting in trouble for damage or injury they may have caused.  This rash decision, however, is not without consequences.  In New Jersey, a driver must stop and wait for the police at the scene after an accident occurs.  If not, the driver exposes him or herself to charges for a “hit and run.”  A guilty conviction for a hit an run can result in fines and even possible jail time.  As you will see in the statute, New Jersey law lays out rules for car accidents.  In each situation, the driver is forbidden from leaving the scene of the accident.  This is true even if the vehicular accident only involved the driver’s car.  If the driver does not follow the rules in the statute, they may face charges for a hit and run under N.J.S.A. 39:4-129.  Picture a situation in which a driver collides with another driver in the Brick Shop Rite parking lot off of Chambersbridge Road.  If the driver at fault speeds away, but is later caught near Hooper Avenue, they can face charges for a hit and run.

If you were charged with leaving the scene of an accident in Brick, you will need to retain a traffic defense attorney.  The attorneys at Villani & DeLuca P.C. have over 20 years of experience defending charges in Brick Township, and throughout the rest of Ocean County as well.  Do not simply wait and plead guilty at the Brick Township Municipal Court across from Brick High School.  Assess your legal options beforehand.

Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident

If the accident results in damage to property or another vehicle:

  • Fines ranging from $200 to $400, For second offenses Fines Range from $400 to $600
  • Possible jail time up to 30 days for first offense and 30-90 days for subsequent offenses
  • Driver’s license suspension up to 6 months for a first offense
    • Driver’s license suspension up to 1 year for a subsequent offense

 

For leaving the scene where a person was injured or died:

  • Fines between $2,500 and $5,000
  • Possible jail time up to 6 months
  • Driver’s license suspension for 1 year for a first offense
    • Permanent driver’s license loss for a subsequent offense

In addition to the penalties listed above, a guilty conviction will result in points added to the driver’s motor vehicle license.  If there are no personal injuries involved, 2 points will be added.  If the accident did cause personal injuries, 8 points will be added.  At 12 points, a driver will have their license suspended.  Another important point to remember is that if no one can be identified as the driver of the vehicle responsible for the accident, liability will be assigned to whoever is the registered owner of the vehicle.

Traffic Defense Lawyers in Ocean County

If you are facing charges for hit and run in Brick, speak with one of our traffic offense attorneys as soon as possible.  The traffic offense attorneys at Villani & DeLuca are well-versed in traffic law and the Brick Township Municipal Court procedures.  The stakes are high and penalties are harsh—protect your rights! Call Villani & DeLuca today for a free initial consultation.

The Brick Traffic Attorneys are available to speak with you about your traffic ticket. Call (732) 965-3345 today for a free initial consultation!

Do you need legal help or consultation? Contact us now.